top of page

The Widow's Mite

The widow with two coins. We have all heard the story. Recently, as I was reading through the Gospel, I came upon this passage. Personally, I have loved this passage for a long time, but mostly because of the widow's humility. When I prayed through the Scripture this time, I decided to put myself in her shoes, giving up my whole livelihood as she did. As a Sister, when I made my vows, I wanted to give everything to God, and continue to strive to do just that each and every day. So as I stepped into the story and walked up to put my two coins, to put everything I owned into the treasury, a sudden realization came over me. I have been aiming to give God everything, every part of me. And although I knew it before, it struck me right then that "everything" includes my past and my future, too. That means that, in those two little coins, I give to Him all the parts of me that that I wished were not there, all of the struggles of the past, any sufferings endured. But even more, I realized that it meant giving Him not only what will become of my future, but also all of its potential.

And so, for just a moment, I stood there with the coins between the tips of my fingers and my thumb. I looked around the room, but no one was paying any attention to me. Then I saw a man by the door whose eyes met mine with such love and peace. All He did was smile at me. I knew that it was the Lord, and by the way He was smiling, I could tell that He was leaving the decision up to me. I could put in both coins, just one, or neither of them. I held His gaze for a moment longer, and then, without even looking back down at the coins, peacefully let go of them and walked away. As I passed through the people whispering and chuckling on either side of me, I bowed my head toward the Lord before leaving. Other people might not consider my two little coins to count for much of anything, and sometimes, I feel the same way. But it doesn't matter what other people think, because all that matters is that Jesus is pleased with the offering.


Meet the Sisters
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Follow Us
  • MP y Margretchen
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page