top of page

What a Marvelous Light!

I’ve always like the story of the Three Kings and every time I hear it something new seems to touch my heart. It amazes me how these “learned scholars” or “kings” would be able and willing to move beyond themselves and be open to this unknown journey. Rather than staying comfortable in their own homes, they went out in search of the new-born King. Whether motivated by curiosity, scientific research, or the desire for peace in the world, they followed the Star. A star that shone brightest when all else is still, quiet, and dark. When the travelers finally arrived in Bethlehem they most likely were shocked or confused by the humility and simplicity of the King of Kings. Nevertheless, they offered their gifts even though they did not find what they were expecting, they did find Who they were looking for. I have no doubt that they were transformed by being in the Presence of the Christ Child and they went back to their countries.

In my daily journey toward God, I find many possible connections to that experience of the “Wise Men”. I am constantly being called to step out in Faith. I am able to best know the Way to go when I am still, when all possible distractions are silenced, and when I am willing to sit with the darkness. In some ways, my journey is much shorter because every day I encounter Christ: in the Eucharist, in the Sisters, and even in that student who needs a little extra attention. Like the kings, I don’t always find Christ as I imagine Him to be, but still He is here among us. But our journey toward closer union with Christ continues throughout our time here on earth, while we live in the paradox of moving toward, searching for, and making room for Christ at the same time as deepening our awareness that He dwells right within our hearts. As Mother Pauline wrote often, “time is short, eternity is long”, when the journey ends we pray that we will be in heaven for all eternity so until then we continue to follow the star each and every day to let Christ be our King of Kings.

Epiphany

In the bleak, cold darkness, a star shone bright.

Calling me out of fear and into new light.

Can I set out into the dark murky night?

Within my heart I find strength to fight

the temptations to hide from uncertain might.

I travel with others who see the great sight.

We each bring a gift we feel is just right

to honor a king with praise and delight.

The journey is long over hills of grand height.

But finally, we see why the star shone so bright.

We fall on our knees on the stable floor light

to adore the Child asleep in the manger that night.

For those solemn moments, the world does not fight.

We have come to pay homage with our little mite.

All people we bring even those out of sight.

In this dark silent night, the world is all right

for God became man - - what marvelous Light!


Meet the Sisters
Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Follow Us
  • MP y Margretchen
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page